How to dig yourself deeper into a hole by Mr Mel Gibson

August 1, 2006

Grovel grovel time for Mr Mel Gibson after his anti-Jewish tirade. Like most ‘personalities’ over the water he takes refuge in psychobabble to get him out of trouble. ‘The actor-director, whose film The Passion of Christ was criticised for blaming the Jews for killing Jesus,’ the Times explains, ‘holds strong conservative Catholic religious and political views.’ A short extract from Mr Gibson’s cringe-making apology: “Every human being is God’s child, and if I wish to honour my God I have to honour his children. But please know from my heart that I am not an anti-Semite. I am not a bigot. Hatred of any kind goes against my faith., and I am asking the Jewish community, whom I have personally offended, to help me on my journey through recovery. Again, I am reaching out to the Jewish community for its help. I am in the process of understanding where those vicious words came from during that drunken display.” Perhaps I can help you, Mr Gibson. Could they have anything to do with those ‘strong conservative Catholic religious and political views’? Actually the unfortunate Gibson more or less gives the answer in his next floundering apology: “The tenets of what I profess to believe necessitate that I exercise charity and tolerance as a way of life.” Profess to believe. In other words, this wasn’t the tequila talking, it was your true inner self admitting that all that stuff about tolerance and love and compassion is just a load of guff that you ‘profess to believe.’

Leave a Reply

