Wit and wisdom of …2 Footballers

August 29, 2006

They play a very mixed style of football, maybe because of their geography.(Sven-Goran Eriksson)

When asked about the rift and comments from Southgate’s book, the England manager (Eriksson) said: ‘I haven’t read what he said, but everyone has his opinion about things. ‘We live in a democratic country and have to accept that. I don’t have any problems with that. I am what am and at my age I cannot change that.”

Would he confirm his intention to see out his contract, which began in February 2001 and is due to expire after the 2006 World Cup? Well,” he said, “if you take the position I had one week ago, nothing has changed. Nothing has changed.” (Eriksson)

“I am happy when our fans are happy, when our players are happy and our chairman is on the moon.” (Claudio Ranieri)

“If you count your chickens before they’ve hatched, they won’t lay an egg.” (Bobby Robson)

“He’s very fast and if he gets a yard ahead of himself nobody will catch him.” (Bobby Robson)

“Some of the goals were good, some of the goals were sceptical.” (Bobby Robson)

“Tottenham have impressed me – they haven’t thrown in the towel even though they have been under the gun.” (Bobby Robson)

“Alan Shearer has done very well for us, considering his age. We have introduced some movement into his game because he has got two good legs now. Last season he played with one leg.” (Bobby Robson)

“I’d say he’s the best in Europe, if you put me on the fence.” (Bobby Robson)

“We didn’t underestimate them. They were just a lot better than we thought.” (Bobby Robson)

“When Gazza was dribbling, he used to go through a minefield with his arm, a bit like you go through a supermarket.” (Bobby Robson)

“I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God, that must have been one hell of a pass.” ( Jasper Carrott)

“…and now it’s Keane with Butt spread wide” Radio 5 Live during commentary on a Man Utd game

“Tell the Kraut to get his ass up front. We don’t pay a million for a guy to hang around in defence.” NY Cosmos executive, on Beckenbauer’s positioning
“The only way we will be going to Europe is if the club splash out and take us all to Eurodisney.”
Dean Holdsworth, Wimbledon

“I never comment on referees and I’m not going to break the habit of a lifetime for that prat.”
Ron Atkinson

“Jean Tigana has spent the entire first half inside Liam Brady’s shorts.” immy Magee

“I couldn’t settle in Italy – it was like living in a foreign country.” Ian Rush, (ex-Liverpool) when asked how he enjoyed his time at Juventus

“I came to Nantes two years ago and it’s very much the same, except that it’s completely different.” Kevin Keegan

“It took a lot of bottle for Tony to own up.” Ian Wright, on the Arsenal captain’s confession to alcoholism

“I’ve told the players we need to win, so that I can raise the cash to buy some new ones. Chris Turner, Peterborough Manager,before the League Cup Quarter Finals in 1992.”

“I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars, the rest I just squandered.” George Best

“If we played like that every week, we wouldn’t be so inconsistent.” Bryan Robson, Manchester United, 1990

“That’s great, tell him he’s Pele, and get him back on.” John Lambie, Partick Thistle Manager, when told his concussed striker did not know who he was.

“If the players want to make it hard for me, I’m happy to make it twice as hard for them.” Wendy Toms, the first female referee to officiate in a professional game.

Leave a Reply

