Blair’s future revealed

September 11, 2006

As a firm believer in the value of translation as a tool for international understanding, (and a fully paid-up member of the Bureau for Understanding Language Learning and Seeking Harmony through Intercultural Training) I thought I would try the excellent tool found here to see if Tony Blair’s statements about his future could be elucidated by translating them into some foreign tongues and then back into English. See for yourselves.

TB: But I am not going to set a precise date now. I don’t think that’s right.I will do that at a future date and I’ll do it in the interests of the country and, depending on the circumstances, of the time.

Retranslated: But I have not thought that the date specifies disposed hour. I, of which the morning that right. thinks, that one in in the continuous screws before and the continuous shapes, I form this country (zone) and the preferences in time by the status.

TB: The next TUC conference next week will be my last TUC, probably to the relief of both of us.

Retranslated: Possibly under following year of TUC my front TUC is the conference of
the week, with strong box to our two rescues.

TB: We can’t treat the public as irrelevant bystanders in a subject as important as who is their prime minister.

Retranslated: Which worries we are the main minister we have been subordinate, which they have taken from the relationships, those worthless or the spectator, it probably milked not the general use at an approximately determined person.

A few points the commentators seem to have missed here. No wonder they see things differently in foreign parts.

Leave a Reply

