big is beautiful

November 3, 2006

dsc00658.jpg my favourite bird- and moth-watching spot
This morning I went up to my usual spot in the hills half an hour from our ‘town house’ and found the most impressive bird I’ve ever seen in the wild- a rare Mountain Hawk Eagle. Nearly a metre high, it sat out on a bare branch for about half an hour for me to have a good look at it- through the telescope as it was a fair way away. Then, amazingly, it started to call as I had my recorder running. I was expecting a spine-chilling, blood-curdling, marrow-freezing, flesh-crawling, toe-curling screech to make my nostril hairs stand on end but in fact all that came out was the squeak of a rather apologetic mouse. Which just goes to show that if you’re really big, you don’t have to shout.

2 Responses to “big is beautiful”

  1. SilverTiger Says:

    Maybe he was saying “Yes, dear. I’ll be along in just a moment.”

    Most species have a broader range of sounds than we sometimes think.


  2. I’m glad you’re posting pictures of your Thai environs. What a lovely place to live! (Although, having read your entry about the Thai dislike for sunny rooms and kitchens, my idea of the perfect house would seem extremely odd there.)


Leave a Reply

